Back to Top

March 2014

2014 SINBA Awards Named

This was far and away the biggest year for SINBA Awards, with 90 students entering the various categories.  The winners were announced on April 12, during the Spring Convention in Peoria.

Radio News Reporting

1st - Lise Graham, University of Illinois

2nd - Chris Lovingood, Western Illinois University

3rd - Bria Purdiman, University of Illinois

Radio Use of Sound

1st - Chris Lovingood, Western Illinois University

2nd - Lise Graham, University of Illinois

Amicus Brief Filed in Joliet First Amendment Case

Joseph Hosey ( for INBA)

​​​​​The Illinois News Broadcasters Association and 38 other media organizations have filed a friend of the court brief in the Third District Illinois Appellate Court on behalf of editor/reporter Joseph Hosey, who potentially faces onerous fines and indefinite jail time for refusing to reveal the identity of a confidential source in a January 2013 double murder case. ​

Five INBA Scholarships Awarded

Murray family and scholarship winner Chris Newman

The family of Springfield-area Broadcaster Bob Murray saw a scholarship awarded in Murray's name at the INBA Spring Convention.  Murray died in February after a brief illness.  His was one of five scholarships presented on April 12 in Peoria.

Murray Family Establishes Student Scholarship

Bob Murray (Courtesy WTAX)

As reported in the February tuneIN, longtime Illinois broadcaster and INBA member Bob Murray passed away Feb. 26 from brain cancer. 

Murray's family will establish a one-time memorial student scholarship in his name to be awarded during the upcoming INBA Spring Convention in Peoria. The award will be given Saturday evening, April 12 as part of the convention.

If you are interested in contributing to the fund, the family requests memorials be made to the INBAF (Illinois News Broadcasters Association Foundation) for the "Bob Murray Broadcasting Scholarship':