Back to Top

The History of INBA



March, 1955 – first monthly newsletter, The Bulletin

April 2, 1955 – first convention, in Springfield

1955 – first president, Bill Small, WLS, Chicago

1957 – first lobby efforts in the state legislature

1959 – first Man (now Illinoisan) of the Year award, Wayman Presley for
his efforts to build a cross on top of Bald Knob

1959 - first directory of members and station newsrooms

1960 – first female elected to board, Madelyn Mervin, WJOL, Joliet

1963 – first student scholarship, Alan Morris of the U of I

1972 – first code of ethics, featuring nine points (updated in 1996)

1979 – first job listing service in newsletter, now called the JobFile

1983 – start of a free legal hotline for open meetings/freedom of information
questions (costs shared with the Illinois Broadcasters Association)

1984 – first Students in the INBA (SINBA) chapter at SIU-Carbondale

1984 – INBA is lead organization in getting Illinois Supreme Court to
allow cameras and microphones in the supreme and appellate courts

1990 – first professional lobbyist, Vickie Moseley

2000 – first website at

2003 – INBA Foundation formed to raise and invest funds for scholarships


Continue reading - Additional Documents