Back to Top

The People of INBA


Lyle Dean receives a service award from Past Pres. Ken KellerWe honor our own members’ contributions in four ways - Life Membership, Distinguished Service Award (DSA), Named Scholarships and Named Donations. The awards are given on an un-scheduled basis.

The earliest honor was the Don Brown scholarship when he left for Arizona in 1963 after nine years as the first executive secretary. There was a failed effort to honor John Rhodes (2nd president) with a named scholarship in 1969. The Bill Miller scholarship, honoring the 1962 INBA president, was named in 1978. The following are results of a search of INBA records spanning 1977 – 2008. With a few minutes and newsletters missing, the lists are not necessarily complete.

Lifetime Members - for multiple contributions to INBA over a period of time - requires general membership approval

Dick Westbrook 1992 - president in 1971
Paul Davis 1996 - president in 1968
John Hultman 1998 - president in 1977
Dave Shaul 2000 - WCIA-TV and U of I instructor
Ken Keller 2002 - president in 1985
Bill Small 2004 - first president in 1955
Ben Kiningham 2006 - president in 1983
H Wayne Wilson 2008 - president in 1991/92

(Bill Miller may have received lifetime status in 1993, and executive secretary Ed Brown may have received this honor as well, but there is no written record of it)

Distinguished Service Award - for special interest - requires board approval

Bill Miller 1993 - freedom of information
H Wayne Wilson 1994 - scholarships, cams and mics in the courts
Ken Kosek 2003 – nominations/elections, helping students
Bob Roberts 2005 - freedom of information
Steve Scott 2007 - cams and mics in the courts
Lyle Dean 2008 - member services and membership growth
James Craven 2015 (posthumous) - legal hotline, legal representation for press freedoms

(Other individuals may have received this award, named the Bill Miller DSA, but no written records indicate such. Above winners all happen to be past presidents).

Named Scholarships - for long service or upon receiving a financial contribution from a memorial fund after the death of a member - requires board approval

Don Brown 1963 - for long service as executive secretary
Bill Miller 1978 - for long service in freedom of information, students
Larry Wilson 1986 - for long service in assisting students
Ed Brown - for long service as executive secretary (no date listed)
Fred Fritz Sorenson 1993 - for contribution
Mary McAndrew 1999 - for contribution

Named Donations given in member’s name after death - requires board approval

Charles Lindy - contribution of books to a U of I library section on ethics, his passion
Patrick Gordon, past president - donation to Boy Scouts, requested by wife Jo Warfield


Continue reading - Named Scholarship Honoree Biographies