Back to Top

First INBA President To Be Honored in New York

William J. Small will receive the prestigious Lifetime Achievement award this fall at the 35th Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards.  
Small was President of the INBA Board of Directors from 1955-56, when he was News Director at WLS-AM Chicago.
He went on to be CBS News Washington Bureau chief from 1962-1974, and is credited with recruiting Dan Rather, Bob Schieffer, Bill Moyers, Ed Bradley, Diane Sawyer and Lesley Stahl, among many others.  He was later President of NBC News, President of United Press International, Dean of Fordham’s Graduate School of Business, and Chairman of News & Documentary at the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.  The award will be presented on Tuesday, September 30, at Lincoln Center in New York City.
INBA will be celebrating its 60th Anniversary next year, at the Spring Convention in Normal on April 24-26.